Posted on June 9, 2012

0


SciFi4Me.com

Not too long ago, I was watching a story on the evening news about a student graduating college who had been paralyzed in a drunk driving accident (he was the one who was driving drunk) just before starting college. Having known someone killed by a drunk driver, I wasn’t too sympathetic. But we all make mistakes, right? So I was touched, as most people would be, when he stood up and walked across the stage at graduation with the help of a robotic prosthesis built by the college’s technology department.

[Read the full article here.]   [Austin Whitney’s web site for drunk driving prevention]

But something that got me was the technology they used.  I can understand if it was a project for the engineering department’s curriculum.  But there was nothing unique about it, like memory metals for muscles.  In fact, it wasn’t that much different from what we’ve already…

View original post 788 more words

Posted in: Uncategorized